PDA

View Full Version : Repositioning my stance-upper arm woes

hankhill
05-03-2006, 07:56 AM
Hi, I've been enjoying this board for a few years, and I've finally come up with something to post!

I recently was able to view my stroke/stance with the help of a video camera. I have a smooth and fairly consistent stroke, but I noticed something I didn't like when I saw how I held my grip arm.

The instructors will surely know what I'm talking about. When I face the shot, my shoulders aren't in line with the stroking line. They are more square to the table, which seems to lead my upper arm to be angled outside of the stroking plane as well. My forearm is closer to the center of my chest.

My feet are planted fairly square to the table, as well.

To remedy this, I have been aligning my feet with the stroking line. This causes my shoulders to be more in line with the shot, and my upper arm also drops naturally in the stroking plane. Sounds easy enough, right?

Its less comfortable, though. My neck has to twist to the left a lot more(right-handed). It's frustrating that I have been practicing this way for years, and I am very grooved into this stance! I only want to change it if it will eventually help my game...

How crucial is it that the upper arm is aligned with the stroking line? Thanks for any replies.

wolfdancer
05-03-2006, 09:22 AM
If I'm reading your post correctly......I had the same problem
I bent forward only. While the cue seemed to be straight to me...it was actually pointed a bit inwards.....and the result was, I missed my share, and then some, of long shots.
I found the cure in one of Bert Kinnister's tapes.
He suggested that you begin your stance by lining up to shoot the shot one handed.....which resulted in a little side bend, and fixed the problem. I kind of visualise it as though I was releasing a bowling ball (don't know if they'll delete this post for mentioning "bowling".....it's one of the 7 words here, that are forbidden)