PDA

View Full Version : Snooker and cut shots?

Billy_Bob
05-07-2006, 09:25 AM
OK, don't laugh at me please...

I was playing snooker yesterday (I'm a beginner at this) and left myself with an easy cut shot into the corner. Easy on a 7 ft. table that is!

But on the large snooker table, I could not shoot the cut shot from straight behind the cue ball like I would on a 7 ft. table. I had to lean over the side of the table and shoot it sideways.

And shooting this sideways, bent over, and all contorted, I could not "see" the shot. I could not see where to aim like I normally do on a 7 ft. table. So I was way off on my aiming.

I think I have learned to aim for shooting cut shots when looking at the shot straight back from the cue ball and looking down from a birds eye view. (I would need a ladder to see this shot from above!)

So how do snooker players aim for cut shots when shooting bent over? Or is the idea to not shoot shots like this? Or maybe try to leave yourself for shots where you don't need to bend over the table - say leave the cue ball further away from the ball and closer to the rail?

Tips, hints, suggestions?

yegon
05-07-2006, 10:29 AM
my question is how can the snooker players make any balls. I thought I play pool reasonably well but when I tried snooker last time on the 12" table with those tiny pockets I could not make two balls in a row.

I gues it all goes down to training for 8 hours a day for 10+ years and you see all the angles. They seem to be able to make balls standing on their heads, I do not think being bent over bothers them a bit.

theinel
05-07-2006, 12:59 PM
Billy_Bob,