PDA

View Full Version : Muscle memory and opposite hand playing?

Billy_Bob
05-24-2006, 08:19 AM
I'm right handed and injured my right hand (pulled tendon or something) and have been playing left handed a few games everyday.

I'm terrible at this, but starting to make a few balls.

Now this is WEIRD.....

I know how to draw, follow, shoot stop shots, etc., but I can't do this with my left hand!

I try to draw with my left hand and it is like my left hand will not listen to my brain or something?

Which gets me to thinking that a lot of my learned shooting ability is actually muscle memory???

Something else interesting... Many years ago I sawed half-way through a finger on my right hand and had my right hand in a cast for many months. So I learned to write with my left hand and do things with my left hand (I was not playing pool at the time). So the more I used my left hand, the better I got at using it.

But anyway shooting pool with my left hand is like I am a day one beginner. I totally miss hitting the object ball many times with longer shots, can't draw, no speed control, can't play position, no nothing. This is really interesting...

Something else interesting, I would have thought the locals areound here (who I usually win against) would be jumping for joy that I could not play up to my ability. Not true! They look disappointed when they see my hand in a brace and I tell them I can only play them left handed. Then when I'm playing them and missing many shots, they don't look happy, are not trying to shark me like they normally do, they are not having much fun. Hummmm... I guess there is no challenge there.

P.S. My hand is getting much better by letting it rest as much as possible and wearing a brace during the day which keeps my wrist from moving. I hurt it practicing breaking very very fast. I think it should be OK in a week or two.

Terry
05-24-2006, 09:57 AM