PDA

View Full Version : "Thinking" about your stroke while shooting?

Billy_Bob
06-02-2006, 01:46 PM
[FYI - I started shooting again with my right hand yesterday and everything seems fine except I am out of practice...]

I have some things to change in my stroke. I was told I have to do this by myself.

I've put up mirrors in my pool room so I can see what I am doing.

The thing is, I am thinking about where my arm is and my stroke, so this tends to mess up my position playing and speed control.

It's like I can "just shoot" as I normally would and get good position on my next shot.

-or-

I can work on having a perfect stroke and then can't leave good position.

I assume it is best for the long run to work on my stroke, but I have team tournaments coming up, so what is best?

Work on stroke at home, then shoot without "thinking" at tournaments? Or try to play using the proper stroke at tournaments as well?

pooltchr
06-02-2006, 02:53 PM
If you practice your stroke properly (forget about making balls, just practice the stroke) it will eventually become a natural part of your game. There is a huge difference between the way you should practice and the way you should play. Thinking about your stroke is something you do in practice. Thinking about the shot in front of you is what you do when you are in a match.
If you confuse the two, you will find your game suffering.
Steve

bsmutz
06-02-2006, 03:31 PM