PDA

View Full Version : New 8-ball for good players...



brizglace
06-24-2006, 08:42 AM
Hi, this change is VERY interesting. Tell me what you think about that?



--- New 8-ball ---

CHANGES:
- It's more interesting for good players.
- The beginning is a mixing of 8-ball and 9-ball.
- It's more difficult to do a ball after the break.
- It's more defensive at beginning.
- Push out is permit.
- You must pocket 1-ball to have solids or 9-ball to have stripes.
- You can use 1-ball or 9-ball to pocket any balls except 8-ball.
------------------------------------------------------------------


* POCKET 1-BALL OR 9-BALL ON THE BREAK *
If you pocket 1-ball, you have solids.
If you pocket 9-ball, you have stripes.
If you pocket 1-ball and 9-ball, you have choice.
If you scratch in same time, (1) cue ball in hand anywhere on the table
for the other player, (2) table is open, (3) you must touch or pocket 1-ball
or 9-ball otherwise it is a foul.


* SCRATCH ON A LEGAL BREAK *
If a player scratches on a legal break shot, (1) all balls pocketed
remain pocketed (exception, the 8-ball: see official 8-ball rule), (2) it is a
foul, (3) the table is open.
Please Note: The incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the
table.


* PUSH OUT *
After the break, push out is permit. (see push out in official 9-ball
rule)


* OPEN TABLE *
The table is "open" when the choice of groups (stripes or solids) has
not yet been determined. When the table is open, you must touch or pocket
1-ball or 9-ball in first otherwise it is foul.
You can touch 1-ball or 9-ball in first to pocket any ball except 8-ball,
if you do that, table is still open and you can continue with 1-ball or 9-ball.


* CHOICE OF GROUP *
You must legally pocket 1-ball to have solids or 9-ball to have stripes.
After, the other player can pocket his balls in any order without begin
with 1-ball or 9-ball.


* COMBINATION AND KISS SHOTS *
Combination shots are allowed; however, the 8-ball can’t be used
as a first ball. You can touch 1-ball or 9-ball in first to pocket
any ball except 8-ball, if you do that, you can continue to play.

-------------(October 2000)-------------------(by Rémi Poulin)-------------

SpiderMan
06-24-2006, 09:06 PM
I think it's an interesting variation. The only real difference will be at the very beginning, sort of like "last pocket" makes a difference only at the end.

Hey, why not combine the two?

SpiderMan

sofy60
06-26-2006, 04:06 PM
did you make this up ?
nice

brizglace
06-26-2006, 06:23 PM
Yes, I did it myself. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif
Every good player I know like this new 8-ball.

With this change, when you play safe, you must hide
the 1 ball and 9 ball in same time. lol