PDA

View Full Version : Golf Clubs

ryushen21
07-18-2006, 06:49 PM
I recently decided, after playing way too much golden tee, that I want to take up golf. I have no experience whatsoever with the game.

I was just wondering if I should go ahead and invest in a good set of clubs from the beginning, or is there such a thing as a beginner set? And if i should just go ahead and shell out the money, what is a good brand of clubs to get.

I realize how parallel this is to some of the cue discussions on the other side, but i am just really looking for some good honest advice.

moblsv
07-18-2006, 08:56 PM
The clubs really do make a difference. To start you will want a forgiving set of Irons, something cast, cavity back, oversized. A proshop can help you get into something that fits your needs. Terms like "forged", "blades", "workable", "soft" are for your next set of clubs when you get your handicap down in the teens

If you are on a budget I would recommend cheaper Irons and putting the money into the woods. A good Driver, Fairway Woods and Hybrids are pricey but you will get a lot out of them. The Hybrids are especially nice. I just bought my first hybrid to replace my three iron and love it. If you can afford it, get rid of the long irons and get Hybrids.

If somebody in your area sells "clone" or "knock off" irons, you can pick up an entire set for $200 - $300 that are actually quite good. I am a single digit handicap and only bought my first set of "real" irons (Titleist) a year ago. Beware of knock off woods though, I have not used a cheap wood yet that was worth putting in my bag.

Deeman3
07-19-2006, 05:44 AM
I would even consider borowing or renting some clubs to see what you like, forged or cast. I started with forged Titlest irons but nmow that my game is less accurate, I use Ping cast irons. I think the above advice is very soound but you might want to try out a few different clubs before you buy. You are a solid framed guy and what fits some may not fit you.