PDA

View Full Version : Ac and turning off thermostat Q, save or cost more

Sid_Vicious
08-16-2006, 07:38 PM
Heat pump owned. Is it true that completely turning off the thermostat during the day, and then back on after say a 104deg day after returning to home after work, is counterproductive since recooling the walls and such will be energy hog, costing even more to operate? sid

Rich R.
08-16-2006, 07:48 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Sid_Vicious:</font><hr> Heat pump owned. Is it true that completely turning off the thermostat during the day, and then back on after say a 104deg day after returning to home after work, is counterproductive since recooling the walls and such will be energy hog, costing even more to operate? sid <hr /></blockquote>
I am not an expert in HVAC, but I have owned a couple of heat pumps in the past.
To the best of my knowledge, with a heat pump, it is best to leave your AC on all of the time, at a consistent temperature. Do not set it back and do not turn it off.
At least this is the recommendation that was given to me by several HVAC contractors.

Sid_Vicious
08-16-2006, 08:16 PM
Thought I'd heard that same thing myself. Thanks...sid

Rich R.
08-17-2006, 05:31 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Sid_Vicious:</font><hr> Thought I'd heard that same thing myself. Thanks...sid <hr /></blockquote>
Sid, IIRC, the theory behind this is that a heat pump neither super heats nor super cools air. It works at maintaining a constant temp.

dg-in-centralpa
08-17-2006, 07:06 AM
Sid,
In my former lives as a plumber and maintenance person at an apartment complex, we were always told to keep the temp the same, during the winter and summer. If you change the temp, don't do it drastically.
Duane

Sid_Vicious
08-17-2006, 07:49 AM