PDA

View Full Version : Finding a perfect match

MissQ
08-24-2006, 08:50 AM
Hi there! I'm trying to figure out what criteria I should consider in seeking out a regular instructor. Does anyone have any insight as to what makes a good coach-student dynamic? What should I watch out for? Does anyone have any experiences they've learned from that they're willing to share? Basically, I'm a beginner on a budget and I want to get the most for my money. Thanks!

mfinkelstein3
09-14-2006, 08:10 PM
Where are you located?

mantis
09-14-2006, 08:57 PM
I would ask the same question for someone living just south of Chicago.

randyg
09-15-2006, 04:40 AM
There's a lot of good Instructors around. Like Mark asked, where do you live. We can help narrow down your selections.....SPF=randyg

pooltchr
09-15-2006, 05:14 AM
I posted some suggestions for students trying to find a good instructor on the thread "Fran Crimi". You may want to check it out.
Steve

Qtec
09-15-2006, 05:55 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Does anyone have any insight as to what makes a good coach-student dynamic? <hr /></blockquote>

Thats a much better question and deserves a thread all on its own.

A good instructor will be recommened by pool players and former pupils. Ask around.
OTOH, a certified instructor is guaranteed to tell you the right things and at the very least /ccboard/images/graemlins/laugh.gif will not screw up your game foreever. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif
It sounds like a joke but I gave lessons to a 14 year old kid with a lot of talent who had been recieving lessons [ for a year ! ]from G-d knows who and he didn't know s6it! Everything he thought that was correct was TOTALLY wrong !He had the whole concept/principal of the game [ snooker ] a$$ backwards. I was livid. That 'cowboy'did a lot of damage to a kid that could have been really good.

Beware of the poolhall teachers who know everything but can't run 3 balls.

Qtec

wolfdancer
09-15-2006, 09:22 AM