PDA

View Full Version : Hoosiers ... And What Movie Makes You Tick

Barbara
07-14-2002, 03:30 PM
So I'm studying for my finals and my brain got full around 4:30 pm. Got answers to 32 of 40 review questions and only about 123 pages of reading to do before the final this Thursday. I have a middle to high B avergae and I really want to ace this course. This is why I'm limiting my Internet time and you haven't seen too much from me.

So when I stopped this afternoon I noticed that "Hoosiers" was on. I love this movie. It really inspires me. I kept messing up the line where Gene Hackman says to Barbara Hershey that "It would kill some guys to be treated as a god for 5 minutes." I always thought that he said "It would kill some guys to get that close to their dream."

I came that close to a dream when I was a teenager. This movie made me re-think that I wasn't a failure but what I did accomplish was that much more important. Since then, I've re-defined my goals and what a success means to me.

What movies/moments have redefined or have inspired you to go for what you want?

Barbara~~~going for an A, but will settle for a B. It's just that way...

PQQLK9
07-14-2002, 03:40 PM
My all time favorite inspirational movies are
"Rudy" and "The Jackie Robinson Story"...a couple
of real Tear Jerkers.
Rootin for u to Ace that exam...

Tom_In_Cincy
07-14-2002, 03:57 PM
There are a lot of sports fantasy movies... lots on baseball, basketball and football.. I enjoy them all.

Field of Dreams, For the love of the game, Hoosiers, the Hustler, Grand Prix (an older movie) all great movies.

I have recently seen some newer movies that are not sports related that deal with the motivation and inspriation factor.

Good Will Hunting, Searching for Forester.. are two really good ones.

Hoosiers is very good.. and I love the ending, when they show the picture on the wall of the gym..

Barbara
07-14-2002, 04:33 PM
Rudy! Rudy!! Rudy!!!

I always cry at that scene he sacks the QB!!