PDA

View Full Version : Breaking

spectre
09-19-2006, 07:01 AM
This is my first post, probably should post it in the newb section. I'm not a newbie to the game, but I decided to start taking it a little more seriously. ie take some natural talent and polish it with drills, practice, etc. Now I want to start right with the beginning. The break, I noticed in pics of what I think is the break that the pros have their cues laying on the table bowed, now I don't know if this is the finish. When I finish a break I hit it solid on the head ball, I do follow through but I end my break with basically the end of my cue over the other end of the table, is this too much follow through? Any advice??

bsmutz
09-19-2006, 07:18 AM
Welcome! Most people agree that the most important goal on the break is to leave the cue ball in a good position for a shot in case you make a ball. In order to control the cue ball, you need to hit the rack or head ball in the correct spot with the correct spin. Follow through and spread (read power) are secondary considerations. Once you can control the cue ball, then it's safe to start adding follow through and power, but only to the extent that you can still control it. Personally, I tend to follow through more than what would be considered a natural stopping point and end up with the cue in the air rather than on the table. A few of the pros break in this manner also, but the majority break as you have indicated. Bottom line is to do whatever works best for you. A session with a radar gun might be in order, but anything over 16 or 17 mph with a good hit is going to spread the rack well.

spectre
09-19-2006, 07:46 AM