PDA

View Full Version : can't get better???

1pkplayer
10-09-2006, 12:17 AM
To start out I have been playing pool for about ten years, and I would seem to me that around two years ago I hit a plateau. I play four to five times a week for hours at a time and im not getting any better. I do practice doing drills and match up as often as I can. I refuse to believe that im going to play this bad for the rest of my life!!!! I can run a few racks of nine ball from time to time but nothing special. My high run in straight pool is 55 which isnít to bad for someone who hasnít played the game there whole life but its not what im looking for.

If anyone has any advice I would love to hear it
thanks
1pkplayer

Nordost_Valhalla
10-09-2006, 03:44 AM
Maybe this is something for you: http://poollogics.is-a-geek.net/articles/one/journey2.htm
[ QUOTE ]
The journey to perfection Part2 - The second awakening

1st: Suddenly I improved faster in 1 week than my whole life before that...
2nd: After only 6 practice sessions I had gone from an amateur to a pro and to Stephen Hendry's level and beyond.<hr /></blockquote>

[ QUOTE ]
1) Did the non-interaction experiement. I went outside the house only 4-5 times during this period, and had less contact with stupid people.<hr /></blockquote>
This guy supposedly stopped playing for a whole year and improved from it! /ccboard/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
I think it may make some sense though. I heard that someone called "The Monk" went to live in a cave with a pool table. Is this the same guy?

Fran Crimi
10-09-2006, 06:40 AM
Ray Martin once told me that you have to be a great ball-pocketer before you can do anything else well in the game. He told me that's how he started. He used to pocket balls from anywhere on the table before he was able to work on his other skills successfully. I agree with him.

If you're playing a lot of 1P, you could be getting caught up in the moves.