PDA

View Full Version : My Thoughts On Playing

maxmillion
11-23-2006, 04:20 AM
Now I'm not a professional Snooker or Pool player by any means. I just wanted to start a thread where beginners and intermediate players could share some of their 'discoveries' that have lead to their game improving. I just want some people to share some ideas so maybe it will get us thinking on a new path or find something else that will let us improve. Idea's that are not 'theory' but are more of a practical notion.

I play Snooker and my current level is: I can run 15 to 35 balls in a row. Now, there was a period of time some months ago when I could do this - then all of a sudden one day my potting went down to struggling to make 5 in a row. At the time I was playing well I could just 'see the angle'. In another thread someone wanted to know what its like to 'see the angle' without any aiming system. Well, for me, you just looked at the object ball, moved your head left and right abit and when you got to that one spot it just looks like you know its in the pocket. There's no system - it just looks right. BUT, don't be fooled, even when I was struggling to make a few balls, I still thought I could see the correct angle but it wasn't the correct angle.

Now, how did I get back into what is for me good form? Well, I started to use an aiming system. First I tried ghost ball but I just couldn't visualise it. So then after reading a bit on the net I found that some #11 in the world in pool used a method of just drawing a line from the pocket extending through the object ball to get the contact point. Now this I could visualise. Then keep watching that spot on the OB as you move down into the shot and bingo, I was back (after 2 1/2 hours practice) with a 50 out of 51 shots. Needless to say there were some very shocked people down at the club who had seen my struggling and 3 days later banging a pretty big number of balls away consectutively. /ccboard/images/graemlins/cool.gif