PDA

View Full Version : Dominant Eye

ericchen0121
12-07-2006, 10:17 AM
A lot has been said about your dominant eye, ie. putting your cue under your dominant eye vs under your chin.

Well, since I started playing pool (4 years ago) I have put my cue under my right, dominant eye. However, it's not merely significant that I do this. The interesting part is that I'm mainly closing my left eye, so the MAIN (I'd say 85-95%) of my visual information is coming from my dominant right eye.

I don't know of any other pros that do this, or have I seen any other players do this.

I know Neils Feijin puts his cue under his dominant right eye (see his gallery on http://www.nielsfeijen.nl/) and it appears he opens his right eye a bit more than the left at times.

I hope this may give some valuable case study to the field of billiards and, for that matter, optical research.

dr_dave
12-07-2006, 10:25 AM
Dominant eye discussions are a perrenial topic around here. To read some of the past highlights, see the links under "aiming" under "dominant eye" here (http://www.engr.colostate.edu/~dga/pool/threads.html).

Regards,
Dr. Dave
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote ericchen0121:</font><hr> A lot has been said about your dominant eye, ie. putting your cue under your dominant eye vs under your chin.

Well, since I started playing pool (4 years ago) I have put my cue under my right, dominant eye. However, it's not merely significant that I do this. The interesting part is that I'm mainly closing my left eye, so the MAIN (I'd say 85-95%) of my visual information is coming from my dominant right eye.

I don't know of any other pros that do this, or have I seen any other players do this.

I know Neils Feijin puts his cue under his dominant right eye (see his gallery on http://www.nielsfeijen.nl/) and it appears he opens his right eye a bit more than the left at times.

I hope this may give some valuable case study to the field of billiards and, for that matter, optical research.