PDA

View Full Version : Dern bifocals!

BadBob
12-18-2006, 04:10 PM
I've been wearing no-line bifocals for 10-15 years. I'm surprised I still have all my toes. LOL..

I can't shoot a long shot to save my life and believe the glasses are distorting my view. It seems there may be one spot I can look through that is OK, but if I don't have my head positioned just exactly right, then it doesn't much matter what I do.

Any advice as to the type of no line lenses I should get next? Or should I get a pair of non-bifocal glasses to shoot with?

slow_roller
12-18-2006, 04:20 PM
I've used progressive lenses on my everyday specs for almost as long as you, but chose just to have just a plain distance RX for my pool glasses (Decot hi-wyds). This was largely to save money, but also for fear of problems like you describe with progressives. With the distance RX I lose just a little sharpness at the close end, so I try to be extra careful about centering my tip on the cueball, etc., but most of the action is at least an arm-length away and pretty sharp, even with the distance RX. I have asked my eye doctor about an RX that is specifically for pool distances, but he was not too helpful, saying he thought my basic distance RX should be fine.

randyg
12-18-2006, 05:33 PM
Check ut the Pool Playing glasses from DeCot at:

www.poolschool.info (http://www.poolschool.info)

We sell about 200 a year....randyg

Rich R.
12-18-2006, 07:19 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote BadBob:</font><hr> I can't shoot a long shot to save my life and believe the glasses are distorting my view. <hr /></blockquote>
A player, who is now in the Hall of Fame, told me years ago that ANY glasses distort your view. He said there is an optical shift between your eye and the lens of the glasses.