PDA

View Full Version : Newbie ? Should be good for a laugh

TheBlackPearl
01-20-2007, 11:51 PM
I just started playing. I'm taking a class thru the local community college. Its like 2 hours a week with very little instuction but at least I get a chance to play. I'm really enjoying it so of course I want to get better. Toward that end I decided to buy my own cue. I went to the local mall and checked the sporting goods store and Sears. After trying about a dozen different models I found that I liked a Mizerak graphite two piece the best. Yeah, I know, many around here think that I'd be better off with a broom stick but I like the way it feels. It just slides thru my fingers better than the wooden ones. I hope the moderator doesn't ban me for saying that. Anyway I'm thinking that if I decide down the road that I'm better off with a wooden cue I'll just put a hard tip on that graphite and use it for a breaking cue. I haven't bought a case yet and I'm wondering about the ones I've seen on ebay. I was thinking about getting one with room for 2 cues but I've also read about jump cues. If I get one of those I'll need room in the case for 3 cues. And what's the deal with all the shaft slots in those cases? Is it like buying a suit where you get one jacket and two pair of pants? Do people use different shafts for differnt reasons or is one like a spare in case the tip comes off the other? I'm trying to think ahead and buy the right case so I don't end up having to replace it. I'd much appreciate any advice anyone cares to give me on this. Thanks!

DeadCrab
01-21-2007, 05:54 AM
Actually, I think a graphite cue (especially with a screw-on tip) is an excellent choice for a first cue. Here is why:

- they do slide better
- relatively indestructible (a little rain is OK)
- nice and straight
- cheap screw on tips allow you to practice tip shaping and scuffing. If you screw up, screw-on a new tip for about a buck.