PDA

View Full Version : I think I'm going cockeyed

TheBlackPearl
01-22-2007, 07:18 PM
As you may know from my few other posts I'm just starting out and every day is a learning experience for me. It reminds me of when I was learning to play guitar. If I could have kept up the learning curve I experienced the first 6 months over the entire time I've been playing I'd be giving Jimi and Stevie a run for their money, lol. But I digress...

I tried something new today. I read a post here somewhere that was talking about how the eyes focus. I tried the experiment it mentioned where you point at a spot on the wall with one eye closed. Then you close the other eye and open the closed one and you notice that you seem to be pointing somewhere a little differently. Then with both eyes open you find out that you get a combined perspective that's different yet. Which all means that where you think you're aiming may not be where you really are aiming.

The first thing I noticed was that my left eye is dominant. Its pretty close to where I see my finger pointing with both eyes open. My right eye alone seems to be about 3 degrees to the right of when I open both.

And I realized that with both eyes open there's kind of a blurred periphreal distortion. Like if you hold a finger pointed up and close to your nose it kind of seems invisable because the eyes focus beyond the finger.