PDA

View Full Version : Cuetip Care

ArizonaPete
01-26-2007, 08:11 PM
I've been using an Eliminator Cue for about 4 years and have been satisfied with it. I don't know what kind of tip is on it (probably a very inexpensive one). It seems to be performing well and is in good shape. I've pic-tip'd it to increase chalk retention.
My question is how long does a tip last and should I replace the one on my cue? Is a soft tip for maximum cue ball control the best hardness. I see Bustamante and Reyes on TV and they really stroke the ball and hit it so low that it appears the cue almost touches the felt. If I hit the cue ball too low, it jumps.
I'd appreciate any input and some recommendations as to cuetip care and maintenace.
ArizonaPete

BillyJack
01-28-2007, 11:42 PM
There's no single right answer for your questions. Generally, when a tip wears down to the thickness of a dime, it's time to replace. I've never made it that long. There's always a different tip to try long before mine is worn down. Do you shape your tips? Here's another area of split decisions. Some players never re-shape, while others (like me) probably over-maintain their tips. Maybe it's a confidence thing-I feel I need equipment to be 100% or I won't be 100%. As far as jumping the CB, that's probably a stroke issue rather than a tip issue, and I can't really answer that. Either way, you'll probably find an improvement in your entire game after going to a premium tip. Search around the forum for ideas. Generally, most common is a medium tip, but as I mentioned earlier there's no single absolute best tip for everyone.

FatsRedux
01-29-2007, 01:31 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote ArizonaPete:</font><hr> I've been using an Eliminator Cue for about 4 years and have been satisfied with it. I don't know what kind of tip is on it (probably a very inexpensive one). It seems to be performing well and is in good shape. I've pic-tip'd it to increase chalk retention.