PDA

View Full Version : Physics is Phun

Shaft
02-01-2007, 09:27 AM
I am an engineer, so now you know my bias...

I am very grateful for "Dr. Dave," Bob Jewett, Robert Byrne, and all the other tekkies that bring a little science to this sport. Their systematic testing and mythbusting have probably shaved years off my learning of the game.

I think even the tekkies agree with all those who say that knowing the physics can't make anyone a great pool player(I wonder how many of the great players had ANY education in physics?); only practice at the table can do that.

OK, PoolTchr, practice and good coaching from a knowledgeable 3rd person.

But I do think that understanding the physics concepts CAN make you a more insightful student when you are practicing and guide you to better adjustments.

Few other games and sports lend themselves to this level of practical analysis. So, bring on the robots, the shaft testers, the better materials, the training aids, the charts, the graphs. Just more pieces of the puzzle...

BTW, last night I sank a LONG 2-9 combo, with thin cuts on both balls, remembering to cut the 2 a little "thin" to account for throw. You know the feeling.

dr_dave
02-01-2007, 09:45 AM
Shaft,

Excellent post, even if you are a biased engineer.

I agree 100% with everything you wrote. I guess great minds think alike. /ccboard/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Others and I have written many posts along these same lines (see the pertinent links under "advice" and "mental aspects" in the threads summary section of my website (http://www.engr.colostate.edu/~dga/pool/threads.html) for the highlights). Maybe if we keep beating the drums, more people will eventually listen and benefit.

Regards,
Dave

PS: FYI, by aligning yourself with the pro-knowledge "techies," you open yourself up to attacks from the anti-science mobs. Beware!

<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Shaft:</font><hr> I am an engineer, so now you know my bias...