PDA

View Full Version : Calling ones best shot

roberteggleton
02-14-2007, 05:41 PM
I'm a therapist in a children's mental health program. I thought that some might find it interesting that I use pool as a technique to teach youth a model of good decision-making. The session starts with the kids drawing balls scattered on the table. I emphasize with each how he or she didn't get the break in life. Most are victims of child abuse, molestation, mental illness, etc. I then instruct them to call their best shot. The exercise has several steps leading to each child earning the break for the next game.

"Rarity from the Hollow"
(my novel with author proceeds donated to prevent child maltreatment -- let me know if you have any questions about the project: robert_t@charter.net)

rangoonkid
02-14-2007, 06:15 PM

Sid_Vicious
02-14-2007, 06:46 PM
I doubt that is the intent, besides those challenged kids merely need something to be excited about, and "working" a table out might just be the avenue to learning. Besides, it makes it fun. I will agree that pool can lead to decadance(sp?), yet it is rewarding in it's short term rewards. I applaud the effort as stated in the original post. Any effort is worth it..sid

DeadCrab
02-14-2007, 06:55 PM
Billiards is an exercise in problem solving, and certainly has the potential for therapeutic value in many settings.

I have had some involvement in introducing autistic kids to pool, and they really take to it. It can be done in a non-competitive environment, strengthens motor planning, social skills, and hand-eye coordination. It is also a great avocation for persons with physical disabilities.

The down side is that acceptance with or understanding by the "pool hall crowd" is not likely forthcoming, nor is it necessarily desirable (vide supra).

Stretch
02-14-2007, 07:53 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote DeadCrab:</font><hr>