PDA

View Full Version : low deflection cue VS non-low deflection (BHE/FHE)

jondrums
02-16-2007, 04:41 PM
This is my first thread here. I post a little here and at AZbilliards but I wanted to put this question up here first because I believe I have a good chance to get a well informed and thorough answer on this forum.

I started playing only several months ago, and naturally decided to chose a low-deflection OB-1 shaft based on many people's recomendations.

After learning about Back Hand English and Front Hand English (BHE, FHE) I've started to wonder if for beginners it actually might be easier to work with a NON-low-deflection shaft. Let me explain:

For a given shot strength (soft, medium, firm, hard), each shaft has a given pivot point right? It would seem that a shaft which has deflection properties such that the pivot point allows you to conviniently use BHE for most shots that require english would be very forgiving. If you aim up the shot with center ball (using the correct bridge length), and apply english with the back hand, a little variation in how much english is applied should have very little effect on the path of the CB.

However, with FHE (and a low deflection cue) one must first be have a smooth stroke and strike the CB with exactly the right amount of english. In addition, it seems harder to me to figure out how to deal with such long pivot points. Platinum Billiards OB-1 shaft test says that it has a 12" pivot point for a 15mph shot (hard?). I am assuming that for most medium and soft shots that I tend to shoot a lot of, the pivot point is something like 30-50 ". I think that for very soft shots where the pivot point is 50" or so, then FHE should work very well. For very hard shots BHE english with a 12" bridge should be good. What about medium shots??? these seem to be very hard for me!