PDA

View Full Version : Code of conduct for bar league?

joepool
03-13-2007, 07:32 PM
i have been asked about putting something together on this. the plan being considered is to have players agree to a "code of conduct" to play in the league, e.g., non-violence, good sportsmanship-honesty, non-discrimination, etc.
I know as a BCA Instructor, I have an "Instructor Code of Conduct", and, personally, think it's a good idea to have one. I don't know if a code of conduct could be created that would be simple and concise enough to be worthwhile.
Perhaps, there is one already created and in use somewhere???
Any comments or suggestions are welcome.

Thanks!

killerstroke
03-13-2007, 11:39 PM
I think the problem is it already puts things into a negative. It is like already knowing something will occur because of the type of people in the league. Question being: After a few drinks and the heat of the battle, would it really make a difference? I would think not. To much to say an I hate to type.

joepool
03-13-2007, 11:56 PM
thanks for the insight; it is helpful. I agree. My opinion is that the league has all this already covered in their bylaws and procedures. There has just recently been some incidents that have "the townspeople with torches, tar, and feathers at the gates", and the league Board is seeking an action they can take to demonstrate they are "doing something" about the problems.
To me, it's kind of like trying to "legislate morality", which I don't think works either.
Oh well, I think I will suggest they "weather the storm" and let it die down....

Ralph S.
03-14-2007, 12:42 AM
Personally Tom, I don't think a "code of conduct" would work. You are basically dealing with a "bar type" of people, and anything can and will happen in a bar. Alcohol can change a persons demeanor greatly. I have seen it way too often. This is coming from a league player that plays in bars and still works part-time as a bouncer. I just think it would be a losing battle in the long run.