PDA

View Full Version : Custom vs. Production Cues

dusmur
03-30-2007, 05:51 PM
Okay, I'm still in a quandry regarding purchasing a cue. From my other posts, and what I've read in the forum, there are those that like production cues, such as MacDermott, Predator, etc., etc. There are others that seem to only go with custom-made cues. I realize this is a matter of personal preference...what cue feels good to what person. I would like to spark a discussion of why some go w/ custom, others production.

I'd also like some advice: I've been playing for over 10 years, and have had only one cue (a graphite, which got me by, sort of).

Is it worth getting a custom made cue for my second?

Would someone order a custom without first having played/tried that maker's cues?

Should I just buy a 'cheapie' (looking at Viking Sneaky Pete, or Lucasi Sneaky Pete)?

My budget is under $250, otherwise I'd pick up a Predator.

Any info regarding this would be most helpful.

Cornerman
03-30-2007, 06:10 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote dusmur:</font><hr> My budget is under $250, otherwise I'd pick up a Predator.

Any info regarding this would be most helpful. <hr /></blockquote>I would go ahead and buy a "production cue." And I'd buy it online from the Billiardwarehouse.com. And I'd buy a JOSS.

The other production cue I'd recommend is a Huebler Sneaky Pete, but they're getting harder to come by.

Fred &lt;~~~ and that's about it

P.S., at the billiardwarehouse.com, they're selling BW cues, made especially for them. For $199, you get a lot of cue.

dusmur
03-30-2007, 06:16 PM
What is it about the Joss and Heubler cues that you like?

jjinfla
03-30-2007, 06:26 PM
What "custom" cue can you purchase for under $250? Or was that a typo and you just forgot the extra zero?

Jake

dusmur
03-30-2007, 06:34 PM