PDA

View Full Version : shooting rail-frozen cue

DeadCrab
04-08-2007, 01:58 PM
OK, I am an expert at leaving the cue ball frozen to the rail, or close to it.

When shooting a cue ball tight to the rail, can the "follow" being forced by striking the cueball above center be mitigated by raising the stick, or is it best to just hit as close to center as possible?

bsmutz
04-09-2007, 01:09 PM
Yes, it can. By raising the cue enough, you can actually masse the cue ball and put draw on it. Be aware that every degree of elevation makes the shot that much harder, so it is best used on relatively easy shots. I've had some success lately with this type of shot by making sure I'm lined up correctly, then watching the cue ball last during my final stroke rather than focusing on the object ball. This helps me get the center ball hit more consistently.

dave
04-09-2007, 01:51 PM
I have a seperate but related question concerning follow through distance under these same conditions. Do you follow through as completely as possible, or is the length of you follow through a mirror image of the restricted length of your backswing?

Stretch
04-09-2007, 08:04 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote dave:</font><hr> I have a seperate but related question concerning follow through distance under these same conditions. Do you follow through as completely as possible, or is the length of you follow through a mirror image of the restricted length of your backswing? <hr /></blockquote>