PDA

View Full Version : maximum english and tips of english on cueball

lewcamp
04-21-2007, 03:41 AM
I was just wondering about how far out on the cueball do you have to cue,(expressed in tips of english), do you have to go to get the maximum amount of spin on the cueball. It seems like i read several years ago that you dont need to go much outside the vertical axis to get the maximum desired english, but it does seem to me like you get more on the cueball the farther out you go from the vertical axis.
Just curious and thought some of you billiard scientists could give me some insight on this.

pooltchr
04-21-2007, 06:49 AM
I'm far from a billiard scientist, but I can tell you as a general rule, you can move away from center 1/2 way to the outer edge with your contact point on the cue ball and still get a solid hit without mis-cue. And the farther from center you go, the more spin is applied to the cue ball.
If you want formulas and percentages, I will defer to Dr Dave.
Steve

dr_dave
04-21-2007, 07:54 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote lewcamp:</font><hr> I was just wondering about how far out on the cueball do you have to cue,(expressed in tips of english), do you have to go to get the maximum amount of spin on the cueball. It seems like i read several years ago that you dont need to go much outside the vertical axis to get the maximum desired english, but it does seem to me like you get more on the cueball the farther out you go from the vertical axis.
Just curious and thought some of you billiard scientists could give me some insight on this.<hr /></blockquote>Your subject line is pretty much the exact title of my July '06 instructional article (http://www.engr.colostate.edu/~dga/pool/bd_articles/2006/july06.pdf). Check it out. It has some good illustrations explaining both maximum tip offset and how it relates to "tips of English."

Regards,
Dave

dr_dave
04-21-2007, 08:00 AM