PDA

View Full Version : Rules question



bataisbest
05-08-2007, 08:24 PM
Had this situation come up the other night while playing 9- ball. What is the ruling regarding the following: Player A shoots a legal shot, the object ball rolls to the lip of the pocket and stays up on the table. Player B steps up to the table and is down on the shot on the same object ball. The ball suddenly drops into the pocket. Who's shot is it and is the ball re- spotted or does it stay down and the game continues? Weird occurrence, just wondering what the ruling is on that. Thanks .

Cydpkt
05-08-2007, 09:03 PM
It may depend upon which league you play for. My understanding is that the ball is respotted and player b continues with his/her shot.

Bob_Jewett
05-09-2007, 10:23 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote bataisbest:</font><hr> Had this situation come up the other night while playing 9- ball. What is the ruling regarding the following: Player A shoots a legal shot, the object ball rolls to the lip of the pocket and stays up on the table. Player B steps up to the table and is down on the shot on the same object ball. The ball suddenly drops into the pocket. Who's shot is it and is the ball re- spotted or does it stay down and the game continues? Weird occurrence, just wondering what the ruling is on that. Thanks . <hr /></blockquote>
A ball that falls in after 5 seconds is replaced at the edge of the pocket. See the rule book for details. The ruling has nothing to do with who is at the table or who has walked away from the table.

bsmutz
05-09-2007, 11:14 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Bob_Jewett:</font><hr>
A ball that falls in after 5 seconds is replaced at the edge of the pocket. See the rule book for details. The ruling has nothing to do with who is at the table or who has walked away from the table. <hr /></blockquote>
If the ball falls in less than 5 seconds, it would count for Player A and Player A would continue shooting. In your scenario (&gt; 5 seconds), it respots and Player B shoots.

SPetty
05-09-2007, 02:52 PM
In the answers you've received, keep in mind that "respotted" in this case means put back in the place it was just before it fell, not spotting on the spot.

bataisbest
05-09-2007, 04:36 PM
Great. Thanks to all for the clarification. I Was unsure what to do in that situation because it happened all of a sudden and was unexpected.