PDA

View Full Version : gripping the cue

allstar
05-15-2007, 03:43 PM
Question, I have been playing for many years. I consider myself a much better than average player. High run is 71 on a nine foot table. Have run more than 100 a few times on 7 foot tables. Until recently I always adjusted my rear grip on some shots. Choking up and also moving back. Is this the correct thing to do? Am becoming much more serious with my game. When I watch the pros their rear grip does not appear to change. Obviously the feel for the cue is different when you constantly change your spacing. Feedback would be appreciated.

pooltchr
05-15-2007, 05:45 PM
If you are changing the distance your bridge hand is from the cue ball, you should adjust your grip hand the same distance. This will keep your grip hand directly under your elbow when the tip actually makes contact with the cb....which is exactly what you want.
Steve

KellyStick
05-15-2007, 07:44 PM