PDA

View Full Version : asbergers

bluewolf
07-25-2002, 02:10 PM
Patrick,

I believe I read from your web page that you have asbergers. I bet most people here do not even know what that is. As a school psychologist, I have worked with preschoolers, grade school children and adolescents who have asbergers. There are also books written by asberger adults, which have shed some light for the rest of us dummies.

I do not claim to be an expert, only a seeker. Firstly, I do not think it is ever possible to understand another being. We are spiritual beings trapped in physical bodies. Even those of similar interests or inclinations connect tangentially at best. Because of our form, if a person is alert enough, he or she feels alone, separate from the other beings that inhabit this planet with us. In the same vein, no two asbergers minds are exactly the same. We are all unique.

Usually, an asberger person grows up feeling misunderstood; undervalued and realizing that he or she is different. Most asberger people are very bright. Most have very good verbal (and writing) skills. Others are good with computers; physics and some are very bright across the board.

To an asberger person, things, which others struggle with often seem obvious to them in their area(s) of brilliance. This can lead the asberger person to feel that they have a superior mind and that most other people are stupid.

There was a lady with a PhD in clinical psychology that wrote a book. Growing up, she knew she was different but did not know why. When her daughter was diagnosed with asbergers, it all clicked for her.

What I want to say is this. People are not going to Ďgetí you. They are not going to know when you are telling a joke or when you are serious. I donít think most people understand highly evolved humor anyway. You not only have a unique mind because you are a unique spiritual being, but you are asbergers and that makes you even more of a puzzle to the rest of us.

Bluewolf

Vagabond