PDA

View Full Version : Hi, the playing balls don't roll much

tnewson
07-22-2007, 12:23 PM
Hi there,

I have new to the forum and have signed up in need of some help... i have a cheapish table (non-slate bed) as im just starting out in pool and wanted to see if i enjoyed it much before spending alot of money on a slatebed.

when i break in 9 ball and 8 ball all the balls stay at the bottom end and hardly roll much at all..

Does anyone on here know why this is? would having a speed cloth really help much?

Any help is much appreciated.

Regards

tom

1Time
07-22-2007, 12:56 PM
I would first make sure the table is level. Sounds like your table is leaning toward the foot of the table.

tnewson
07-22-2007, 01:11 PM
Hi, cheers for that.

I've posted up a vid of how little they roll maybe this could help..

bad roll (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7u5EOOB-uLE)

Just realised link didnt work, have sorted it now

pooltchr
07-22-2007, 04:36 PM
Probably a combination of things. You may have a thick nappy cloth, It may not be quite level, possible loose cushions, and a non-slate bed...all of these things can take a lot off the balls.
Steve

DeadCrab
07-22-2007, 06:22 PM
This is a complex question. Don't blame the "non-slate" surface yet.