PDA

View Full Version : The APA is perfect

jjinfla
08-16-2007, 05:20 PM
Why do people keep trying to change the APA?

It is there to serve a niche in the pool playing community and it does it very well. It is not for everyone, but then, playing at the professional level is not for everyone either.

The APA keeps growing and growing. As it grows the money keeps coming in and the owners keep enjoying their weekly trips to the bank.

So why think of changing something that works?

Jake

Bassn7
08-16-2007, 10:19 PM
Agree. I've been playing for 23 years and enjoy every night. Beautiful pool hall, plenty of tables, no quarters, no time cost and tons of teams. Going to Vegas for my 7th time. Awesome.

dave666
08-17-2007, 12:07 PM
i dont think the apa is so great!!! around here(peoria,il)
you dont even get $ back anymore /ccboard/images/graemlins/mad.gif. you get credit to buy apa junk. the league ops are making the league not worth playing. try the bca or the acs and see how you like them.

SKennedy
08-17-2007, 12:10 PM
Does it promote the game in a positive way? Does it generate new players and interest in the game among a variety of people? Yes, it does. That's what's important. This should not be a contest between APA and BCA, or others. There's plenty of room for everyone and it allows individual players to have a choice.
I'm in my second session of APA and had never played league prior to this. As for rules, I prefer BCA, but from what little I know, I think APA is better for a "handicap" league that is really trying to level the playing field. For a lower level player, that's a good thing as most handicap systems still favor the more skilled player. For example, in APA the table is not open after the break if a legal ball goes in a pocket, but in BCA the table is still open. To me, an open table after the break, regardless of how many and which balls drop, is an advantage to the more skilled player.

BigRigTom
08-17-2007, 12:11 PM