PDA

View Full Version : Lighter cue advantage?

phil in sofla
07-26-2002, 02:31 PM
My first cue was a 18.5 oz. Dufferin cut into a two piece. I didn't chose that weight, only choosing the cue since it was available at a reasonable price ($35 with a case, as I recall) at the right time.

I decided to go heavier, to see if it would give me more action naturally on the ball, and got a 20.5 oz. for my next (and current) cue, which I've been playing with now for maybe 4 years. Again, I went with what was available for sale without much effort (guys selling their cues in the PH), not exactly picking a personal considered choice, just trying the couple that were available that had the weight I was looking at. (A Helmstedter, to which I added a Predator shaft about 20 months ago).

I'm definitely sold on the Predator shaft, so whatever I get I'll keep that aspect intact. However, I actually have a stroke relative to before when I didn't and was looking for the cue to do it for me, and I'm thinking of maybe a 19. Obviously I should try before I buy, but what do you think are the pros/cons of the lighter cue compared to the heavier cues?

Kato
07-26-2002, 02:46 PM
Phil, I suppose I'm as qualified to answer this as well as anyone so here goes. You might as well hit with some lighter cues, my Predator is around 19.1 oz I'll let you hit some balls with it whenever. You should hit with a bunch of cues though to get the feeling of what you want. I don't know how many people we know that play with Predator on various butts though. I'm assuming the hit/balance will change immediately after replacing the shaft.

Kato~~~Phil's buddy R.J.

bluewolf
07-26-2002, 03:21 PM
i have a 19.5 but i shoot too slow with it. when i use a lighter stick the balls go faster.at least that is the way it seems.

07-26-2002, 03:33 PM