PDA

View Full Version : Using a Soft Tip?

okinawa77
09-21-2007, 10:11 AM
Does anyone use soft tips?

If so, do you experience any advantages/disadvantages?

Does Elk Master make the softest tips? Hardness rating: 60.1

Deeman3
09-21-2007, 01:53 PM
Many do but most good players prefer a harder tip for consistency and for longevity. If you use a soft tip, you will get good action on the ball but will be spending a lot of time trimming the edge and replacing it more often.

billiards89
09-21-2007, 03:55 PM
i had a hard tip on my viking then got a predator with a medium tip it seems to be just right not alot of maintenence goog feel

Randall53
09-21-2007, 05:00 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote okinawa77:</font><hr> Does anyone use soft tips?

Does Elk Master make the softest tips? Hardness rating: 60.1 <hr /></blockquote>

I have an Elk Master on one of my cues. It grips the cue ball very well when using english, but it is very soft and it does require more maintenance. If you shoot a really soft game, then the Elk Master will last a while before mushrooming. The tip of my main cue (Fury) has a La Pro tip on it. A friend turned me on to Fury Cues a while back and I really do like the Fury with the La Pro tip a lot.

Rich R.
09-21-2007, 06:47 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote okinawa77:</font><hr> Does anyone use soft tips?

Does Elk Master make the softest tips? Hardness rating: 60.1 <hr /></blockquote>
IMHO, tip hardness is a personal choice and you have to decide what tip you like the best. Don't go by what others use. Decide for yourself.
There are many pro players and advanced amateurs using everything from the softest tip to the hardest tip. Try a number of different tips and get an idea of what you like and then stick with it.

1Time
09-22-2007, 12:17 PM

Elkmaster has the softest rating I've found online.