PDA

View Full Version : Which New Cue?

ToughBreak
10-16-2007, 09:14 AM
I am new to your forum and am seeking advice on a new cue. I have had a lot of experience shooting pool in my youth and reached an intermediate level however that was 25 years ago. I recently went on vacation and rented a house with a seven foot table and shot with my son for a week. The old fire was awakened and I am looking at an 8 foot Olhausen table to install in my home. Here is the catch. When I shot years ago I used the house cues or borrowed custom cues from friends. I want to start back on the right foot and purchase a quality cue. I have narrowed it down to two cues. The first is a Lucasi LE18 and the other a 5280 ELE06. Do any of you forum members shoot these sticks and if so what is the difference in their characteristics. What can I expect from them in how they shoot. Thanks for your attention to this and any comments would be appreciated.
ToughBreak

okinawa77
10-16-2007, 02:07 PM
If I had to choose between the Lucasi and the 5280, I would choose the Lucasi. They are both decent cues, but I am not familiar with the Tiger-Red Line tips (made with pig skin) on the 5280s. The Lucasi comes with a Triangle tip which is what McDermott uses now.

ToughBreak
10-16-2007, 03:31 PM
Thanks for the information. According to 5280, the Redline tip plays like a Tiger Everest in fact I think that Tiger makes the tips for 5280 as they mention the "Vaculam" laminating process in their advertisements. Also, 5280 claims they turn their cues 11 times in their manufacturing process. Would this mean they would tend to be more straight than other cues who do not turn them as often? How does Lucasi make their cues and how are they for quality? I know these are a lot of questions but I have searched the Internet to no avail. I really appreciate your input.
ToughBreak

1Time
10-17-2007, 08:53 AM