PDA

View Full Version : for an article for class

Carin333
11-27-2007, 03:17 PM
What are your concerns, love or hate about the billiards business? [list]

Carin333
11-27-2007, 03:53 PM
Allow me to elaborate. I'm a student journalist at Columbia College in Chicago. I have to cover the billiards industry and I am really stuck on a topic for an issues article. Basically I need to know what you think about the BUSINESS aspect of your local pool hall. Do you wish they had booze? Do you wish they don't have booze? Is it disturbing you that the pool tables aren't five feet apart? Help me out guys!

Derek
11-27-2007, 04:02 PM
Lack of space, first and foremost. Too many bars try to cramp in that last table or two. This is a real problem on league nights and tournaments.

Lack of table maintenance is probably second. Either good cloth/felt or keeping the tables level.

Lack of good chalk. Spend a couple of bucks for your customers instead of waiting for those few dozen cubes to be drilled all of the way through.

Loud music. Tunes are okay, but it shouldn't overwhelm normal conversation or the sound of pool balls.

Any bar box that costs more than 50 cents. I'll play on big tables whenever the choice, but I hate playing in tournaments where it costs a buck a game in a race to five. That being said, it should always be a greens fee in place of having to pay quarters.

Cydpkt
11-27-2007, 04:49 PM
One waiter/waitress for a hundred people. Most places (my opinion) don't pay their bills off of the hourly or per game charge. I believe that the revenue from drinks and food are what put the place in the green. We have a place that closed their kitchen and they loose a lot of money by having people leave to get something to eat.