PDA

View Full Version : pool, golf, and bowling analogies

dr_dave
11-28-2007, 02:49 PM
It seems like many people like using golf analogies when discussing pool. Maybe it's because many pool players also play and like golf. What about bowling? Don't many pool players also bowl, and doesn't bowling provide just as many direct analogies? In fact, I think some people started playing pool because bowling establishments often provide pool tables (and sometimes even complete pool halls) under the same roof. That's how I started playing pool. I misspent much of my youth in a bowling alley playing pinball (and later video games), playing pool, and bowling. I'm actually almost as avid about bowling as I am pool. I've been in bowling leagues since I could walk, and I've even bowled a perfect game (300) recently.

Why is it that bowling isn't mentioned as much as golf as an analogy or companion to pool? Is there some "bad blood" or "baggage" due to past industry squabbles? Do people think golf is really a much better analogy than bowling for pool? Are there other reasons (e.g., do pool players play golf more than they bowl)?

Here is a list of some of the analogies between the games, with what I consider weak analogies marked with an asterisk (*):

pool...........golf............bowling
CB.............ball............ball
OB............green*.........pin
cue...........club............ball*
grip...........grip............grip
stance........stance........stance at release
stroke........swing..........swing
eyes up......eyes down.....eyes up
..on OB.......on ball.......on arrow target
..during hit..during hit*...during release
pocket........hole...........the "pocket" or pit
swerve.......hook/slice.....curve ball
table..........fairway.........lane
ball slides...ball flies........ball slides
..on surface..thru air*.....on surface
rack of 9......the green*....rack of 10
..or 15 balls..........................pins
rails..........trees and........kick-back plate on walls