PDA

View Full Version : Power draw

Drop1
12-06-2007, 08:34 PM
I tried a power draw last night,and spent this morning repairing about eighteen inches of cracked plaster,ten feet from the table I figure I did something wrong. I tried to hit the cue ball,as low as possible,and keep my cue horizonal to the table,and cut lose. Should I have jacked up the cue?

aggie_shooter
12-06-2007, 11:59 PM
Now I am no pro, and I'm relatively new to the game, so take what I say with a grain of salt, but here's what I would say about your "issue..."

Hitting a solid, effective, powerful and accurate draw stroke IMO is probably the hardest stroke to master. Things I would say to keep in mind while hitting the shot:

-STAY DOWN THROUGH THE STROKE!.... I think probably the easiest and most common way to mess up a "power draw" stroke is getting up before completely finishing the swing. Along with this is making sure that the bridge hand does NOT move. Because you are 'nervous' about shooting a difficult shot, it's easy to lose form causing you to miscue, or just hit the cue ball where you didn't intend to. If you are striking the ball low and stand during the stroke you are most likely going to create a kind of scooping action so think about the fundamental form you need to be keeping.

-Cue angle... I don't think "jacking up" is quite the remedy you are looking for... You want to elevate just a BIT more than on a normal draw stroke, but nothing dramatic. If you over elevate, even if you manage not to go under and scoop the ball, you're going to cause the cue ball to jump, the same way that hitting a proper jump shot would.