PDA

View Full Version : another rule question.



=k=
08-01-2002, 10:04 AM
last night during leauge play, one of our players was down on shot, while releasing a player from another table backed into him. makeing him miscue..
the other team wanted ball in hand.. i said he should be able to replace cue in approx. same spot and reshoot.. they finally agreed.. due i think to only hard shots were available.
was this correct?? thanks k

Wally_in_Cincy
08-01-2002, 10:54 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote: =k=:</font><hr> last night during leauge play, one of our players was down on shot, while releasing a player from another table backed into him. makeing him miscue..
the other team wanted ball in hand.. i said he should be able to replace cue in approx. same spot and reshoot.. they finally agreed.. due i think to only hard shots were available.
was this correct?? thanks k <hr></blockquote>

I agree with you. And if you can't agree where the balls go-break again, same breaker. Don't have a rule book with me though.
Houston Dan or Barbara or Randy G. will weigh in eventually.

08-01-2002, 11:22 AM
Wally said it all...randyg

Rod
08-01-2002, 11:33 AM
k, the rule book states what Wally just said. How difficult the shots were is of little importance. No possible way of giving up ball in hand because of outside interference.
Everyone should be familiar with this site.

http://www.bca-pool.com/start.shtml

http://www.bca-pool.com/play/

08-01-2002, 11:49 AM
There are a couple of exceptions, I think. Rule 3.35, BCA General Rules of Pocket Billiards, specifies a different procedure in the case of straight pool--re-rack, lag, re-break. Texas Express 9-Ball Rule 6.0-20 authorizes only the tourney director to restore the balls to their correct positions. This rule should apply only in TXX tournaments and in other tournaments that adopt TXX rules, but some rooms try to play TXX rules full-time. Go figure.

Duke Mantee