PDA

View Full Version : playing on instinct?

bradb
01-08-2008, 01:34 PM
I thought I would pass this on to the members here and get some feedback on playing methods.

Last night I had an approach and out going in my 8Ball match. I really wanted this game as it would put me 4 and 1 for the night. I got to the last ball which was simple but required a running side draw back to the eight. I studied this shot for a while working out how much side and pace I needed. Finally I hit it trying to nurse the QB to perfect shape, instead the QB died and froze behind a nearby ball. I managed to kick the 8 but my opponent ran out!!

I was frustrated as hell and after the match I set up the shot and hit it perfect without even thinking about it. Another player says to me "you had nice action going, why did you break your rhythm?"

I thought about that and I think he had a good point, but then I've allways felt that when you get to the crucial shot... stop, take your time and nail it! But in this instance if I had just stepped up there and hit it without agonizing over it, I would have won the game.

Theres a zone between concentrating and shooting with instinct but where is that zone? practice does'nt help you find it because there's no pressure. its the magic zone that eluded me when I needed it most. -brad

SKennedy
01-08-2008, 01:53 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote bradb:</font><hr> Finally I hit it trying to nurse the QB to perfect shape, instead the QB died and froze behind a nearby ball. -brad
<hr /></blockquote>

I think the key phrase is "trying to nurse the QB to perfect shape".....

IMO anytime you are trying to nurse the QB you increase the likelihood of an error...besides that, it will give you sore boobs! /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Then again, could it have been the cloth.....was the ball spinning when it stopped?

bradb
01-08-2008, 02:05 PM