PDA

View Full Version : Predator tour bans jump cues

Bambu
01-27-2008, 01:39 AM
http://www.predator9balltour.com/rules.htm

I'm not complaining, but I felt this was too ironic not to mention. Shortly after predator unveils its new "air jump" cue, they follow that up by banning jump cues on their latest 9-Ball tour.
Assuming Predator was not responsible for banning their own new product from their latest tour, what was the reasoning behind this decision? Nothing against Tony Robles(an all around class act) but was he responsible for banning the jumpers? Or is it the players who dont like them? The room owners maybe? Certainly not predator.
Personally, I have been opposed to jumpers for years now, but finally broke down just to "keep up with the jones'." I also just happen to have bought the predator air jumper, about a week ago. In my book, it does everything it claims to do. I have no experience jumping with any other jump cue(only my own cue, or a house cue). Actually, I did try an old jump cue from years ago called "the frog." That was even cheesier than the predator air jump, and as many people remember, was banned shortly after its release. It was just silly, looked like a giant pencil with a huge tip.
Frankly, I feel this jump cue stuff is cheating. Far easier than jumping with a standard size cue. You dont even need to drive the ball hard into the slate hard to get it to jump. Drte I say, it is almost a purchased skill. But I also think there is a fairly big market for these cues, and the crowd seems to thrive on jump shots.