PDA

View Full Version : 8-Ball Practice Question

putz0999
01-29-2008, 11:35 AM
Hi all.

I'm a newbie, but have been lurking and reading for a while.

Here's my question...
I started practicing 14:1 a couple years ago and saw a noticable improvement in my 8-ball game. The friend that I practice with is an older gentleman that grew up playing snooker. We found a snooker table last year and switched to playing snooker about once a week.

My problem is that since switching to playing snooker on a regular basis, my 8-ball game is falling apart. Has anyone else noticed a problem switching back and forth between snooker and "regular" pool?? The balls are different sizes and I am wondering if the size difference is what is confusing my 8-ball eye.

Another regular at the pool hall has repeatedly refused to play snooker with us because he claims it messes up his regular pool game.

Any thoughts??

Putz

Cydpkt
01-29-2008, 11:44 AM
Smaller balls and smaller pockets should allow you to become more accurate. That being said there are some adjustments to be made when going from a different sized table and balls. There is a different mental process used for each game. 9 ball vs 8 ball is a great example. 8 ball every ball is a defensive opportunity. When you remove all your defensive "players" you better sink the 8. I truly believe more games are lost by the person who attempts (unsuccessfully) to run out. It is a huge advantage to a smart player to step up and have only their balls and the 8 ball on the table. Have you ever noticed how hard it is to get a shot on the last ball before the 8 when your opponent has all of their balls on the table. Play smart and switch mind sets for which ever game you are playing.

CarolNYC
01-29-2008, 11:52 AM
[ QUOTE ]
The balls are different sizes <hr /></blockquote>