PDA

View Full Version : Tips!

SKennedy
03-13-2008, 02:10 PM
Ok folks, there is much I don't know about tips. I just took my shaft in for a new tip and the guy looked at it and told me it was a LePro. Until then, I wasn't sure what type of tip was on the shaft. I've been using the shaft withe same tip for about 1 1/2 years. I also did not know how hard it was, but suspected a medium-hard tip. This guy (proprieter of the billiard shop) tells me that the LePro is a hard tip. He suggested a Triangle, which is medium. He said that both of these tips, as well as Elkmaster?, which is a soft tip, are all made by the same folks. In his opinion, Moori is overrated and said that most people who insist on a Moori don't know how to properly care for one anyway. I asked him to order me one anyway,but for the time being he is putting me a Triangle on the shaft.
Anyway, I was surprised to learn I was using a hard tip as I thought it was a little softer. When I have tried softer tips, such as Moori mediums (and always on someone else's stick), I don't seem to get any more spin on the ball than when using the harder tip. His only suggestion was that with the Triangle tip I need to make sure I keep it "hairy"...his way of saying scuffed up.