PDA

View Full Version : BILLIARDS A GREAT TEACHING TOOL...

SPetty
04-03-2008, 10:16 AM
fun article:

BILLIARDS A GREAT TEACHING TOOL FOR MECHANICAL ENGINEERING STUDENTS, SAYS ‘DR. DAVE’

http://newsinfo.colostate.edu/index.asp?url=news_item_display&news_item_id=440879812

SKennedy
04-03-2008, 10:28 AM
I haven't looked at the article yet, but back when I was going to Texas A&M I played pool with the Prof running the Physics Department (i had already taken all my physics but always skipped my classes and only showed up for tests) and we would actually discuss and incorporate physics into the game. In fact, from this, he hired me to work for the department part-time while I was a student. It was a great and cushy job! There are many, many aspects and benefits to playing pool, and other sports also.....

dr_dave
04-03-2008, 10:30 AM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SPetty</div><div class="ubbcode-body">fun article:

BILLIARDS A GREAT TEACHING TOOL FOR MECHANICAL ENGINEERING STUDENTS, SAYS ‘DR. DAVE’

http://newsinfo.colostate.edu/index.asp?url=news_item_display&news_item_id=440879812 </div></div>Spetty,

How did you find that? I didn't even know it was available yet (or where to find it).

Thank you for posting the link.

Regards,
Dave

PS: FYI, my College also recently published an article about my squirt robot project. Here it is: squirt robot article (http://www.engr.colostate.edu/comm/news/index.cfm?fuseaction=con.main&ID=897&cat=3).

KellyStick
04-03-2008, 11:45 AM
Pool = Applied Physics

dr_dave
04-03-2008, 11:51 AM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KellyStick</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Pool = Applied Physics</div></div>
Drinking = Applied Fluid Mechanics

DickLeonard
04-03-2008, 11:56 AM
SPetty nice to see your posting I'll have to spend more time on this side of the board. How is your new pool room? If you still don't have a home for Vincent I might have one.
Love Dick