PDA

View Full Version : It's still in there somewhere!

sack316
04-04-2008, 11:49 AM
Well friends, after more than a six month layoff from pool and poolhalls for personal reasons, I made a cameo appearance last week with a friend on a day we were both off work. Just a day to hang out with old friends and teammates and catch up on the goings on of the previous months.

And as expected--- I took my cues out of their case and it felt completely foreign, my line of sight was way off, and my angles and position were... well I'll be nice and say terrible.

So I chose to take this "new" feeling and try to use it to better myself. As a self taught player I had plenty of bad habits that were just there from a young age. They had become muscle memory, and though I had worked on and gotten rid of several of them, a few still lingered because that's just how I shot and was comfortable. I became a good shot by adapting and compensating for some of my bad form, but when teaching others I was always more of a "do as I say and not as I do" kinda guy.

Well, now after quite some time off I figured this as good a time as any to focus on mechanics and retrain my body to shoot properly. After some time of shooting "right", and several bad racks, it eventually clicked... my old comfort level at the table mixed with new proper mechanics came together and suddenly I was shooting more like the old me, just minus the bad habits.

Now I won't sit here a lie and say I shot like a god from then on, but it was good enough for me to see the potential gain that would come from it if and when I start practicing regularly again. I was able to pull off shots and position play that my old form used to prevent me from. My speed and angles were still off, but I could see it... and most importantly see the "why" when something was off.