PDA

View Full Version : To APA Players Re: Strategy for Line-Up

Michelle
08-08-2002, 09:49 AM
I've been playing APA leagues for several years, have been the team captain many seasons, and I feel pretty comfortable with my knowledge of the league.

My original team always played by a certain strategy. We would try to be the ones who "put up" first. We feel that by putting up first, we are then in control of the 4th AND 5th matches. The reasoning behind this seems quite simple to us...by the end of the 3rd match, we pretty much know who is left to play on the other team (who is still present and what skill levels they can play without going over 23) and we know who we have left. So, when the other team puts up the 4th player, we can make the choice of who we want to match up against them, AND we know who they have left to match up against our 5th player. Everyone tries to win at least 2 of the first 3 matches, but if that does not happen, then we felt like we could counter-act well enough in the last two and still have a really good shot at taking the night 3-2.

Well, i got into an argument over this strategy with my current team's captain last night. He swears that by letting the other team put up first, that we have 3 chances to match who we want up to their choices. He says my concept of "controlling" the last two matches doesn't even exist, and that if you win 2 of the first three, then you are almost sure to take the night at least 3-2.
(Of course last night, we lost 4-1 using his method...the other team put up 1st and 3rd, and the ppl we matched up both lost...he put me up second, and I was the only one who won...but anyway...)

So, I am wondering what you APA players out there think about this. Do you use either of these strategies, or something else we haven't thought about. I know there are always certain circumstances that cause you to change your general strategy, but my strategy worked for my old team very consistently for many seasons.

Wally_in_Cincy