PDA

View Full Version : Is this a foul?



bataisbest
07-07-2008, 04:47 PM
I'm playing a game of 9-ball the other night and I was at the table chalking up my cue. As I go to place the chalk on the edge of the table, it slipped out of my hand and bumped one of the balls on the table and moved it about 1/8". My opponent gets up and states it is a foul since the ball was moved during my turn at the table. I did'nt want to argue about it but I was just wondering if this is really a foul or is it only when you bump it yourself with your arm or your cue? Also, what happens when you're down on your shot and someone bumps you from behind and causes you to foul?

pooltchr
07-07-2008, 06:45 PM
It depends on the rules you are playing by. If you are playing cue ball fouls only, it isn't. Now had you dropped the chalk on the cue ball, that would be a foul.
Steve