PDA

View Full Version : Ferrules

JWasson
07-15-2008, 12:27 PM
OK, I've been shooting pool for over 40 years and I'm still asking stupid questions. What's the deal with the different lengths of Ferrules and the different materials they are made of.
I never really gave it that much thought before, but I guess I'm getting older and maybe curiosity has gotten the best of me.

First of all, I'm not really positive of exactly what the ferrule is supposed do. I think I have an idea, but never asked. I figure it probably has something to do with keeping the wood from splintering at the tip end of the cue because I could imagine that happening if it weren't used and the tip was glued to strait wood. Someone can set me strait I'm sure on this.

OK, for the first real question. What is the differences in the lengths of Ferrules? Some of the newer low deflection shafts have really short ones while others seem to have ferrules that look to be more of the lengths I've become used to looking at for the past 40+ years.

Now the next real question. What difference does it make what material the ferrule is made of. I see them available made from Ivory, Ivorine III (whatever that is), plastic, woven fibers, Polycarbonate, Elforyn (whatever that is too), brass, and even laminated wood of a sort, just to name some of the different materials.

Thanks
John

Deeman3
07-15-2008, 02:23 PM
I think Ferrules are there to have the leather tip adhered to and, as you say, not have the wood damaged. I also think they are far less important than we think although they are reduced in length and some have holes in them to reduce deflection somewhat.

I like my ivory ones but its just a matter of having used them for so long on all my cues. I don't think I'd notice the difference in any real way.

JWasson
07-15-2008, 07:12 PM