PDA

View Full Version : When should we start to learn engligh?

JJFSTAR
08-12-2008, 11:17 AM
In another thread a new topic started to form and the question came up “When should someone start learning english?” The discussion differentiated about whether or not the individual was receiving instruction.

For me the question is easily answered. Whenever you decide you want to play better pool you should start learning english. I do not see the logic in withholding that information from anyone or suspending its use until one has reached a certain skill level if they are being self taught.

Maybe I am incorrect for a simple reason that I do not understand. If someone came up to me and asked me when they should start to learn english I would tell them now. If someone asked me when they should start using english I would say whenever they become aware that it will make the shot or gaining position easier.

To measure this in terms of what they are able to perform doesn’t make much sense to me. I start teaching someone how a ball moves across a cloth the second day I am with them and on that day I tell them that it can be spinning to the right or left.

So am I crazy and do other teachers not talk about divergence from the vertical axis right away for some reason? Maybe I do not understand what exactly is being said in the other thread. But I read it a few times.

This makes me sound like a tipster but I am the opposite. My favorite shot is the soft, center ball and railess.

bsmutz
08-12-2008, 11:32 AM
I think most people recommend waiting to teach/use english as it adds complexity to the game. They feel it's better to learn what can be done with center ball, follow, and draw first, as well as seeing how the balls react off the rails without english. I'm far from being an expert, so my opinion on this is irrelevant.

JJFSTAR
08-12-2008, 11:53 AM