PDA

View Full Version : How Long to get outa shape?

KellyStick
10-13-2009, 07:01 PM
I go though periods where I practice almost daily. Then I go through periods where I play only on my one league night or longer in between. Then there are days somewhere in between the daily and the weekly. Generally speaking I don't feel like I get too much out of the groove if I miss two weeks of no play. I may in fact play better sometimes maybe because I miss it and really get into the game. I'm no pro by any means so my "in the groove" is probably not anything special but on the other hand it's usually good enough to beat anyone I play in APA.

Do you folks feel like there is a duration of not playing that really affects your game? I mean i played when I was young and stopped for some 10 years and sucked real bad. I'm not talking about that. But how long does an extended lay-off for us pool junkies have to be in order to really affect your game? It almost feels like after so many years of play that it would take a real long time to get way off and that with a little focused effort like 30 minutes if your mind is right to get most of it back. And what goes first? For me it's the down the rail shots that go first.

Thoughts?

Icon of Sin
10-14-2009, 07:11 AM
1 month. If I just play matches without solo practice for a period of about 1 month it throws me all off. I know this because I just recently did that when I started taking up golf.

Now here comes the long winded part of the post /forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif

I just started learning how to play golf about 3 months ago. So far I am enjoying it immensely. This is mainly due to the MASSIVE learning curve I currently have in it. EVERY time I got hit golf balls I see myself improving with things like aiming, distance, hitting it straight and general contacting and stroke of the golf ball.