PDA

View Full Version : Pro Taper Shaft

TomBrooklyn
08-13-2002, 07:45 AM
I tried a cue with a pro taper shaft last night. I like the way it felt. The next time I buy a shaft or a cue stick, I will get it with a pro taper. =TB=

08-13-2002, 08:14 AM
I'm very interested in this issue. I recently purchased a custom cue. The cue maker really wanted me to try his method of shaft taper. Which is almost a constant taper from the ferrule all the way to the joint-starting with my choice of 12.8 diameter. I have been playing with more of a pro taper for several years (12.8 down 13 inches) and I've got to say that this new "bigger" taper is driving me crazy. The cue plays so much stiffer. I'm having a much harder time applying english and on long shots more deflection. The cue maker really thinks this is the best way to do a shaft and urges me to stick with it until I get used to it. I’ve also spoken to other cue makers and they agreed saying they like this type of taper also – it’s been referred to as a “European taper” and they prefer it for playability. I'd love to know if the people who use cues for a living like the “pro taper” vs. a more “European taper”.

Chris Cass
08-13-2002, 08:23 AM
Hi David,

I don't know about that. I think they like it because of the way they cut it on a lathe. The Euro taper to me is great for snooker but that's my opinion. I've always played with a pro taper shaft and wouldn't change. As far as deflection goes. I think you'd get less with the Euro taper. My advice is stay with your taper. I like the 12.8 13". That's the super pro taper.

Regards,

C.C.

Wally_in_Cincy
08-13-2002, 09:00 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote: DavidNC:</font><hr> I'm very interested in this issue. I recently purchased a custom cue. The cue maker really wanted me to try his method of shaft taper. Which is almost a constant taper from the ferrule all the way to the joint <hr></blockquote>

I would not like that either.

Fran Crimi
08-13-2002, 09:22 AM