PDA

View Full Version : Question about new rule



08-14-2002, 11:20 PM
Someone had told me that the rules had changed slightly for the peninsula 9-ball tournament.

They had mentioned that the nine was being racked on the spot with the sardo. The new rule i heard about was that soft breaking is no longer allowed. I think they said that 3 balls must pass the side pocket for it to be a legal break. A rule created by the UPA???
Does anyone out there know if this is true? If it is a UPA rule, will the new rule be implemented at the U.S. OPEN?
Any info would help.

Raphael

WaltVA
08-15-2002, 06:19 AM
The tournament rules were that 3 balls must pass the side pocket; balls pocketed and the cue ball count toward the 3-ball total. Haven't heard about applicability to future tournaments.

Walt in VA

08-15-2002, 10:59 AM
I know that to be a UPA sanctioned event, it comes down to the money involved being posted etc. etc. I was just wondering if sanctioning involves UPA rules changes as well.

Thanks Walt

Raphael