PDA

View Full Version : Joint Technology

griffith_d
08-15-2002, 08:09 PM
I have a Meucci with an 5/16 X 18 joint. I have a Uni-Loc on my Pred BK. I know Uni-Loc has another joint, the Radial Pin.

Then there is the 5/16 X 14 and 3/8 X 10 and I am sure there are some more that are custom made.

I am thinking of getting a custom cue, for playing, and I am very unsure if which would be the best joint.

I am open to suggestions and comments through other experiences. Also the material, stainless, wood to wood (to me this would not last), aluminum,...etc.

Griff

BLACKHEART
08-15-2002, 10:30 PM
Don't sell the 3/8-10 joint short. I've been making Qs with this joint, since 1986 & I have yet to have one of my Qs come back with a stripped out thread in the shaft. The advantage of this thread, is that the screw makes contact with the wood in the shaft & gives you the most feed back from the tip to the hand. In short you get MORE FEEL with this joint. It also has the effect of a SOFTER hit. IT'S ANYTHING BUT FRAGILE...JER

Cueless Joey
08-16-2002, 01:56 AM
Jer,
Why not switch to the radial or the SW type pin?
Acme or radial threads last longer, don't they?
The radial and SW pins also have a unthreaded "wall" that keeps it straighter and more concentric than the regular 3/8 10 which is threaded from end to end.

clarence
08-16-2002, 03:14 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote: BLACKHEART:</font><hr> Don't sell the 3/8-10 joint short. I've been making Qs with this joint, since 1986 &amp; I have yet to have one of my Qs come back with a stripped out thread in the shaft. The advantage of this thread, is that the screw makes contact with the wood in the shaft &amp; gives you the most feed back from the tip to the hand. In short you get MORE FEEL with this joint. It also has the effect of a SOFTER hit. IT'S ANYTHING BUT FRAGILE...JER <hr></blockquote>

Does a 3/8 x 10 gives more feedback compared to Uniloc or radial pin ?

PQQLK9
08-16-2002, 06:33 AM